Fun for Baby

A Whole New World

Today marked a new chapter in Mini’s life. The chapter of swim diapers, splashing, and possibly swimmer’s ear in the future. 

We have a local aquatics center that has a semi-permanent roof and walls for the cold months. That simply means: warm/hellishly hot months=sunshine and suncreen, cold months=insane indoor humidity. But hey, we can swim year round. So anyway, I loaded up Mini, her newly acquired pool float, and two bags of random stuff I thought we’d need and met up with a friend and her two kids (ages 5 and 11 months) at the pool.

If Mini could have spoken when I first placed her in her float in that lukewarm water, I think she would have pulled a Queen Victoria and given us a heartfelt, “I am not amused.” Where are my Doctor Who fans at? Or, you know, just fans of the British monarchy. It didn’t take her long to realize the pool was basically a giant bath tub, which is probably her most favorite place ever. Unless there are puffs involved. Then homegirl heads to where the snacks are.

Things I learned from our first pool day:

  • Bring snacks! I can’t believe I didn’t think of this. Luckily, my friend had a bag of those baby Goldfish crackers. Total lifesaver.
  • Bring a stroller. I did not, and changing was definitely an issue. This will be a must from now on, so I can strap Mini in while I change. Or pee.
  • Lifeproof cases are amazing. I could snap pictures without worrying about the water. Note: The depth of the kiddie end of the pool we were at is only about 18 inches, but Lifeproof cases are submersible for up to an hour in depths up to 6.6ft/2m. I Googled it just for you.
  • Babies will sleep like champs after all the splashing and fun. Mini legit fell asleep before I finished buckling her in her car seat.
  • Skimpy tops are not proper mom attire. Not because I think you have to dress conservatively because you’re a mom. Babies are grabby and clothing gets pulled.
1 thought on “A Whole New World”

Leave a Reply

